Carson’s Bedroom: Here’s the Plan

Feeling overwhelmed with having an entire house to decorate, it was hard to know where to start.  We have so many ideas running through our heads!  My ever sensible hubby suggested going one room at a time … this of course, is obvious and logical in hindsight, which is probably why it never occurred to me.  We can focus our energy on one room at a time, one project at a time.  Now that we know how we are going to manage my need to change everything about this house, we have chosen to start with Carson’s room as that is really the only room that I have a clear idea of what I want.  And so we’ve begun planning out a room that can grow with our little man with some fun, rustic touches.

So here’s what we’re thinking:
Carson's Room Board | making it in the mountains
Carson's Furniture | making it in the mountains

We knew we wanted a old lodge feel, so it all started with this plank wall tutorial.  Originally, I pictured red and navy blue plaid, but I came across this pillow at One King’s Lane and fell in love with the bright blues and greens that I hadn’t considered.  We like the idea of a rustic mountain retreat that Carson won’t outgrow in a few short years and these gave us a jumping off point.

The wall colour that we are leaning towards is called “Fair Lady Kelly” (otherwise known as AC158), though we aren’t absolutely sure yet, as we’re a bit worried it may look too dark.  I like the idea of the old cabin feel of this bedding set I found at Ikea – don’t you think it would look perfect with a wool army style blanket thrown over the end of the bed?  I thought this black bed from Ikea would dress things up a bit, but still coordinate with the bookshelf and dresser we had made for him last year (I posted some old pictures from his nursery below the design board).  This rustic pendant light from Barn Light Electric and a black roller blind would be a great way to bring more black into the room, which I’m hoping will help it all come together with a sophisticated feel.

Now for the fun part!  I found these antler hooks on Etsy and the wall racks with baskets here & here – I think they would be a great way to give C some extra storage.  Some faux taxidermy like this would give the wall above his bed some interest and, along with some other moose themed art scattered on the walls and bookshelf throughout his room, I think it will give it the mountain feel we’re going for.  Finally, in the corner I picture a black chair like this with some fun colour or pattern like this moose print pillow.

Things always seem to look SO much better in my head, so we’ll have to see how this all comes together.  Regardless, we’re really excited to get started!

Signature1

 

5 thoughts on “Carson’s Bedroom: Here’s the Plan

  1. Ashley@BiggerthantheThreeofUs says:

    Love the direction you are going and that pillow….SWOON. Love it. Coming over from the linkup at TT&J.

    Like

Would LOVE to hear from you!!!